Love Sucks

Wheatsheaf Hall

An alternative Valentine's cabaret comprising unconventional love songs from the worlds of pop music, musical theatre and original writing. Come, grab a drink from the Geoids-run bar, and have our 16-strong cast share the less slushy side of this Hallmark holiday with tongue in cheek love songs taken from the worlds of pop music and musical theatre.

Performances took place at Wheatsheaf Hall, off South Lambeth Road, Vauxhall on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 February 2019.

Song list

Foundations – Kate Nash & Paul Epworth
Apathetic Man – Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich
Tonight at Eight – Sheldon Harnick & Jerry Bock
When He Sees Me - Sara Bareilles
Always True to You in My Fashion – Cole Porter
The Art Teacher – Rufus Wainwright
In Love With You – Alan Zachary & Michael Weiner
Model Behaviour – David Yazbek
Before He Cheats – Josh Kear & Chris Tompkins
Portrait of a Princess – Michael Bruce
Oh Henry Bar – Christopher Dimond & Michael Kooman
Run, Freedom, Run – Greg Kotis & Mark Hollmann

Drumming Song – Florence Welch, Crispin Hunt & James Ford
Air Conditioner – Christine Lavin
To Excess – Christopher Dimond & Michael Kooman
Splitting the Bill - Freya Morgan
The Little Things You Do Together – Stephen Sondheim
Screw Loose – David Javerbaum & Adam Schlesinger
The Man That Got Away – Ira Gershwin & Harold Arlen
Love The One You’re With – Stephen Stills.


Emma Coffey, Amy Foden, Dan Geller, Lois Howarth, Heather Jones, Barry Lattimore-Quinn, Deb Lean, Jacob Lloyd, Corin Miller, Freya Morgan, Helena Tong-Grosso, Zofia Pisera, Franciscus Prins, Katy Robinson, Tess Robinson, Kaylen Rose, Stephanie Russell.

Production Team

Musical Director: Jordan Clarke
Creative Producer: Daniel Paul
Assistant Producer: Katy Robinson
Production Manager: Giles Burden
Lighting Operator: Nathan Long
Sound Operator: Phil Yates
Promotional photography: Stephen Russell